What a pain in the neck!

I’ve been called spineless before, but never by a neurologist!

While I was blessed with insurance this year, thanks to some awesome folks at Horry-Georgetown Technical College, sadly I still have to well over $2,000 out of pocket this year. On the bright side, I’ve finally been able to get some of the medical care I’ve been neglecting for 10 years. On the less-bright side, it seems my spine is shot.

The most pressing need right now is for spinal surgery on my neck to correct a rather bad case of spinal stenosis. Now, what do I mean by bad? The neurologist told me that, without this surgery, in the near future I will lose my limbs. <pauses to let that joyous tidbit sink in>  He did not specify if he meant that figuratively (as in paralysis) or literally (as in amputation). Either way, grossing under minimum wage means that next year’s tax refund is literally the next time we will have disposable income. By then, you could throw me in a pool and call me Bob. (Somehow, that seemed much funnier as a kid.)

And so we are forced to once again turn to the kindness of strangers and friends alike, begging for donations and charity. The PayPal link on the shiny Donate button still works, so hopefully a bunch of folks will use it.

I may not make a living wage as an adjunct, but it is something until I can get hired on full-time. I love HGTC, my colleagues, and students. I do not want to lose them all and find myself an immobile lump  sitting on my recliner on disability from the federal government while watching TV and wearing an adult diaper.

The expenses are already starting, and the surgery should be this summer. We did rather a lot of blood work, and fortunately everything was good there. Perfectly normal. Now I next proceed to have my head examined, as so many of you have recommended over the years. An MRI of the brain to rule out MS and a few other diseases whose shorthand names meant nothing to me.

So please, we really need you all once more. Help if you can, and share the link to this blog as far and widely as you possibly can.

Thank you all,

Cameron

Leave a comment